The people, the matches, the victories and the moments that happened throughout the years...
remembered from week to week.

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter (@PLWtweets) to get the near-daily "Today in PLW History" facts.

For the week of May 18th thru May 24th

May 18, 1997
After Shane Simons had to give up the PLW championship due to injury, Jason "the Slasher" won a Pier 6 Brawl to become the next champion. Watch that match and the entire event via our
YouTube page.

May 18, 2003
At Power-Fest 2003, hometown favorite Gary Apollo defeated PLW champion Dr. Heresy. However, since it was after the original time limit was reached, the title couldn't change hands. The "overtime" was not sanctioned by PLW officials.

May 19, 2002
At Power-Fest 2002, Dr. Heresy regained the PLW championship by winning a Pier 8 Brawl for the vacant title. And Johnny Curtis (pictured) defeated Chris Blackheart to become PLW New England champion.

May 19, 2013
Former WWE and ECW champions Shane Douglas, Spike Dudley and Kenny Dykstra made appearances at Power-Fest 2013. And all three PLW titles changed hands, as for the first time ever at a Power-Fest event all reigning champions lost their matches.

May 20, 2001
The 10th Power-Fest event was held. In the main event, with the referee knocked-out, Amazin' Jay ran in the ring to help officiate the match. At the time, a rumor was going around that Jay was thinking of returning to the ring and making a run for his third PLW title. He thought Dr. Heresy would be easier to defeat, so he superkicked Don Juan de Santo so that Heresy would retain the title. Jay would return to the ring three years later (after Heresy lost the title twice). He lost to Heresy in August 2006 in a match billed as between two of the most successful PLW wrestlers of all time. This event was also the last PLW appearance for de Santo.

May 20, 2007
Chris Blackheart defeated Jason "the Slasher" to become PLW champion. The win also made him the seventh PLW triple crown winner, having won the New England title in 2002 and the tag team title with Don Vega in 2004. Watch the entire Power-Fest 2007 event via our
YouTube page.

May 21, 2000
Extreme guests visited PLW. ECW's Spike Dudley and Little Guido make appearances at Power-Fest 2000. Guido interrupted Spike's "photo op" during intermission and insulted Lincoln, Spike's hometown. Shane Simons, Guido's opponent for Power-Fest, was accompanied by his cornerman for the afternoon, Spike Dudley.

May 21, 2009

T.J. Richter pinned Don Vega to end a six-man tag team match between Richter, Matt Storm & Mr. Munroe and Vega, Jose Perez & Kevin Karizma. Richter hoped to repeat this ten days later when he faced Vega one-on-one for the PLW championship at Power-Fest 2009. Watch this match, and the entire event, via our
YouTube page.

May 22, 1994
At Power-Fest 94, Dutch Davidson defeated Macho Kid in a tournament final to regain the PLW New England championship. And the SWAT Team defeated the Deadly Alliance to regain the PLW tag team titles.

May 22, 2011
At Power-Fest 2011, PLW veterans The Deadly Alliance helped Mini McGraw defend the PLW tag team titles for his family. The DA and their manager, the Pharmacist, were guest commentators during that match. They decided to assist after seeing the lone McGraw being triple-teamed by Buddy Romano, Mike Paiva and manager JC Marx.